- 1 SB580
- 2 121444-2
- 3 By Senator Denton
- 4 RFD: Governmental Affairs
- 5 First Read: 30-MAR-10

1	SB580
2	
3	
4	<u>ENGROSSED</u>
5	
6	
7	A BILL
8	TO BE ENTITLED
9	AN ACT
10	
11	Relating to the membership of the Alabama Music Hall
12	of Fame Board; to amend Section 41-9-680, Code of Alabama
13	1975, to change the current membership of the board; to
14	provide for terms of service; and to provide for the annual
15	election of a secretary and a treasurer.
16	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:
17	Section 1. Section 41-9-680, Code of Alabama 1975,
18	is amended to read as follows:
19	" §41-9-680.
20	"(a) There shall be created and established as
21	herein provided a board to be designated and known as the
22	Alabama Music Hall of Fame Board. The Until the effective date
23	of the act amending this section, the board shall be composed
24	of seven members, who shall be appointed by the Governor of
25	Alabama for terms of six years each; provided, that of the
26	first members appointed under any restructured board, two
27	shall serve for two years and two shall serve for four years,

1	as the Governor may direct. Four board members shall be
2	appointed from the membership of the Muscle Shoals Music
3	Association and three board members shall be appointed from
4	the state at large and shall not be employed in the music
5	business.
6	"(b) Effective immediately following the effective
7	date of the act amending this section and adding this
8	subsection, the board members as established by subsection (a)
9	shall terminate service on the board and a new board shall be
10	composed of the following members who shall each be a resident
11	of Alabama:
12	"(1) Two members appointed by the Director of the
13	Alabama Tourism Department for initial terms of office of four
14	years. Successor members shall serve terms of office of six
15	<u>years.</u>
16	"(2) Two members appointed by the Director of the
17	Alabama Mountain Lakes Association for initial terms of office
18	of four years. Successor members shall serve terms of office
19	of six years.
20	"(3) Two members appointed by the Governor for
21	initial terms of office of two years. Successor members shall
22	serve terms of office of six years.
23	"(c)(1) The six members of the board appointed
24	pursuant to subsection (b) shall take office immediately upon
25	the effective date of this amendatory act and shall appoint,
26	by a majority vote, one additional member for an initial term

of office of two years. Successor members shall serve terms of

27

office of six years. To the extent possible, the appointments

shall be made so that no two members reside in the same

congressional district.

"(2) The membership of the board shall be inclusive and reflect the racial, gender, geographic, urban/rural, and economic diversity of the state. The board shall annually report to the Legislature by the second legislative day of each regular session the extent to which the board has complied with the diversity provisions provided for in this subdivision.

"(3) Except for the initial seven new members
appointed, successor members shall each serve terms of office
of six years and may serve a total of two full terms of
office.

"(d) The Each October beginning in 2010, the members of the board shall select a chairman chair, and vice-chairman a vice-chair, a secretary, and a treasurer from among their own number. Members of the board shall not be compensated for their services, but each member shall be entitled to reimbursement for expenses incurred in attending board meetings. The board shall meet quarterly and at such other times as its rules and bylaws may prescribe. A majority of the Four members shall constitute a quorum for transaction of business."

Section 2. This act shall become effective immediately following its passage and approval by the Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.

1		
2		
3	Senate	
4 5 6	Read for the first time and referred to the Senate committee on Governmental Affairs	30-MAR-10
7 8 9	Read for the second time and placed on the calendar	01-APR-10
10 11	Read for the third time and passed as amended	08-APR-10
12 13	Yeas 32 Nays 0	
14 15 16 17 18	McDowell Lee Secretary	