- 1 SB407
- 2 159182-1
- 3 By Senator Bedford
- 4 RFD: Commerce, Transportation, and Utilities
- 5 First Read: 25-FEB-14

1	159182-1:n:02/25/2014:DSM/th LRS2014-1011
2	
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	SYNOPSIS: Under existing law, the Governor appoints a
9	member of the board of directors to the Bear Creek
10	Watershed from his or her cabinet or staff.
11	This bill would allow the Governor's
12	appointment to be at large.
13	
14	A BILL
15	TO BE ENTITLED
16	AN ACT
17	
18	To amend Section 33-15-4, Code of Alabama 1975,
19	relating to the Board of Directors for the Bear Creek
20	Watershed; to allow the Governor to appoint a member at large.
21	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:
22	Section 1. Section 33-15-4, Code of Alabama 1975, is
23	amended to read as follows:
24	<b>"</b> §33-15-4.
25	"The board of directors of the authority shall
26	consist of 14 members, designated herein as directors, as
27	follows.

"(1) The governing body of each of the Counties of Marion, Colbert, Franklin and Winston shall appoint a director of the authority who shall be a person residing in the county whose governing body makes the appointment and who shall be active in municipal, industrial, agricultural, commercial or citizen organizations engaged in promoting comprehensive and unified development of the resources of the Bear Creek Watershed as a basis for its general economic growth. The term of office of each director so appointed shall be six years, the term of the first directors so appointed to commence on the date on which there shall be filed with the Judge of Probate of Franklin County the certificate of incorporation provided for in Section 33-15-3. The governing body of each of the above-named counties shall appoint successors to the first director so appointed by it, and any vacancy in the office of a director so appointed by it shall be filled by the same governing body by another appointment for the unexpired term.

1

2

3

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

- "(2) Each Governor of Alabama shall appoint a director from his cabinet or staff at large to serve during the term of office of the Governor making the appointment. Any vacancy in the office of a director so appointed shall be filled by appointment by the same Governor for the unexpired term.
- "(3) The mayor or other chief executive officer of each of the municipalities of Red Bay, Vina, Hodges, Hackleburg, Bear Creek, Haleyville, Phil Campbell, Russellville and Cherokee and their successors shall serve as

directors during the respective term of office of such mayor
or other chief executive officer."

Section 2. This act shall become effective

immediately following its passage and approval by the

5 Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.