- 1 HB437
- 2 127400-3

By Representatives Sessions, McMillan, Laird, Buskey, Robinson
(J), Williams (J), Sanderford, McClurkin, Johnson (W), Boyd,
McCutcheon, Wood, Faust, Bridges, Collins, Roberts, Johnson
(K), Colston, Shiver, Johnson (R), Beckman, Treadaway, Greer,
Carns, Patterson, Robinson (O), Moore (M), Rogers, McClammy,
Scott, McAdory, Holmes, Bracy, Hammon, Merrill, Vance and
Barton

- 10 RFD: Boards, Agencies and Commissions
- 11 First Read: 28-FEB-12

1 127400-3:n:02/20/2012:FC/tj LRS2011-1404R2 2 3 4 5 6 7 SYNOPSIS: Under existing law, the Advisory Board of 8 Conservation and Natural Resources is composed of 9 10 the Governor, the Commissioner of Agriculture and 11 Industries, the Director of the Agricultural 12 Extension System, and 10 other members appointed by 13 the Governor, with one of these members being a resident of each Congressional district as 14 constituted on January 1, 1998. 15 This bill would provide for the appointment 16 17 of two additional members to the advisory board who 18 would be commercial fishermen. These members would 19 be appointed by the Governor from a list of three 20 nominees for each position. 21 22 A BTLL TO BE ENTITLED 23 24 AN ACT 25 To amend Section 9-2-14 of the Code of Alabama 1975, 26 27 to provide for two additional members to be appointed to the

Advisory Board of Conservation and Natural Resources who would
 be commercial fishermen.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:

4 Section 1. Section 9-2-14 of the Code of Alabama 5 1975, is amended to read as follows:

6

"§9-2-14.

7 "(a) There shall be an Advisory Board of Conservation and Natural Resources. The board shall consist of 8 the Governor, the Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries, 9 10 the Director of the Agricultural Extension System ex officio, and 10 other members to be appointed by the Governor, one of 11 12 whom the Governor shall designate as chair of the Advisory 13 Board of Conservation and Natural Resources. The appointed 14 members of the board shall be selected with special reference 15 to training and experience along one or more of the principal 16 lines of activity vested in the Department of Conservation and 17 Natural Resources. The term of office of each appointed member of the board shall be six years. Of members first appointed, 18 however, two members shall be appointed for two years, three 19 20 members shall be appointed for four years, two members shall 21 be appointed for five years and three members shall be 22 appointed for six years. The members of the board shall 23 receive no salary or compensation as members of the board, but 24 shall be reimbursed for expenses of travel, meals, and lodging while in the performance of their duties as members of the 25 26 board, pursuant to Article 2 of Chapter 7 of Title 36.

"(b) After July 1, 1998, the members of the advisory 1 2 board appointed by the Governor shall be appointed so that one member of the board is a resident of each congressional 3 4 district as the districts are constituted on January 1, 1998, and no more than two members are residents of the same 5 congressional district. If a member appointed from a 6 7 congressional district ceases to be a resident of the district from which appointed, the member shall vacate his or her 8 office. This subsection shall not affect the term or 9 10 reappointment of any current member of the board.

"(c) The board shall hold semiannual regular meetings at the time and place designated by the chair of the board or the Commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources. The chair of the board or the Commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources may call special meetings as may be necessary.

"(d) The Commissioner of Conservation and Natural
Resources shall be ex officio secretary of the board and shall
keep minutes of all meetings and a record of all proceedings
of the board. The commissioner shall receive no additional
compensation for the services.

"(e) On a transitional basis, one additional transitional member of the Advisory Board of Conservation and Natural Resources shall be appointed by the Governor from each congressional district as constituted on January 1, 1998, which is not currently represented on the board. A transitional member shall serve a term of six years or until a permanent member of the advisory board is appointed to represent the congressional district where the transitional member resides. A transitional member may be appointed a permanent member to a full term of office. Transitional members of the board shall have the same powers, rights, and duties, and shall be reimbursed for expenses as other members of the advisory board during their service on the board.

"(f) Two additional members of the advisory board 8 shall be appointed by the Governor from a list of nominees, 9 10 consisting of not more than two nominees from a nominating 11 organization for each position, nominated by an association or 12 associations organized and incorporated in the State of Alabama, which substantially or fairly represent the 13 14 commercial seafood fisherman and the seafood industry of the 15 State of Alabama and whose membership is apportioned and fairly representative of the seafood interests as a whole, 16 17 economically, educationally, socially, and effectively 18 organized and experienced in the representation of all aspects of the seafood interests and in methods designed to increase 19 or promote the increased use, consumption, marketing, and sale 20 of seafood through the united efforts of the nominating 21 22 association. If the Governor is satisfied that the nominees 23 are in conformity or meet the standards herein and are fairly 24 representative of the seafood interests, the Governor shall 25 appoint the best qualified candidates or nominees to fill the 26 positions as members of the advisory board."

Section 2. This act shall become effective
 immediately following its passage and approval by the
 Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.